Make your own free website on

Io Tifo Tafi
Tour of Flanders World Cup 2002
Tafi Cycling Camp
Latest News
Personal Info
Major Race Results
Classics and Tours
Fan Club Info
The Team Jerseys
Paris-Roubaix 2005, The Grand Finale
Photos- 2005 Season
Photos- 2004 Season
2004 Season News
The USA Races 2003
More 2003 Season Photos
Spring Classics 2003
Photos 2003 Season- CSC
2003 Season News
Tour of Flanders World Cup 2002
More 2002 Season Photos
Photos 2002 Season
Spring Classics 2002
Photos 2002 Season, Australia and Malaysia
2002 Season News
More 2001 Season Photos
Photos- 2001 Season
Paris-Tours World Cup 2000
Photos 1989-2000 Seasons
Paris-Roubaix World Cup 1999
Tour de France 1998
Italian National Champion 1998
Rochester World Cup 1997
Giro di Lombardia World Cup 1996
Links and Contact


Tafi Wins the Ronde!

Tafi with Museeuw and Van Petegem (AFP photo)

"Things were looking good for a Mapei win now as Meerbeke loomed. Tafi saw two of his supporters on the right side of the road with a "Tafi" banner and took heart; he was the strongest in the break, so he dropped back to the tail of the group, waiting for just the right moment to launch his last salvos.

With 5 km to race, Van Petegem was nervous; he kept looking back at Tafi but in a moment's inattention, Tafi launched yet again at the 4 km mark, Van Petegem let him go and Museeuw and Hincapie just couldn't close the gap alone.

The Tuscan got 50 meters gap - just 5 seconds lead - and there he stayed, but it was enough. No one wanted to sacrifice their chances pulling back Tafi, who was just gaining momentum as the finish line got closer.

As the three chasers and Nardello made the sweeping right onto Halsesteenweg with 1.5 km to race, they all realized that Andrea Tafi, pounding his 53 x11, had made his final attack of the day stick, and would thus win the 86th Tour of Flanders. The large, and very partisan Belgian crowd realised this too, and watched in stunned silence as Tafi rode the last 500 meters to victory."

Andrea at the sign -on in Brugges

Final selection on the Muur

Tafi leads the final break (AFP photo)

The winning move

Tafi wins the Ronde!

Andrea attacks the cobbles (Roth photo)

The big TV shows Andrea's final attack


A bit of the bubbly with teammate Nardello after the win!

1 Andrea Tafi (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step  6.53.00  (38.354 km/h)
2 Johan Museeuw (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
3 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
4 George Hincapie (USA) US Postal Service
5 Daniele Nardello (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
6 Rolf Sörensen (Den) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
7 Enrico Cassani (Ita) Domo-Farm Frites
8 Gabriele Missaglia (Ita) Lampre-Daikin
9 Mario Cipollini (Ita) Acqua e Sapone
10 Erik Zabel (Ger) Team Telekom
11 Jo Planckaert (Bel) Cofidis
12 Robert Hunter (RSA) Mapei-Quick Step
13 Lars Michaelsen (Den) Team Coast
14 Andrej Hauptman (Slo) Tacconi Sport-Emmegi
15 Stefano Zanini (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
16 Paolo Bettini (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step